Battery Life ?

willbloke

How long should you get from a battery these days ?

98 ZX9R , generally used at weekends , less so in the winter , mainly short journeys in winter .

Kept in a garage .

I'm not sure when it last had a battery , possibly 5 or 6 years , bit reluctant turning over but fired ok earlier , (was a bit chilly though) did about 2 or 3 miles , journey back wouldn't start first go , hit the button again and it sorta choked.

Turned it off and back on again ( I'm a Computer Engineer :biggrinvk4: ) and it started , but I noticed it reset the clock and trip.

Kinda worried now as it's my only transport at the mo .

Put it straight on charge when I got back and the C-Tech charger went green straight away.

Is my charger lying or is it on the way out ?

Help me Obi-Wan Kenobe , you're my only hope ...

I'll be very surprised if you get much more than 6 years out of a battery.Just get a new one,can't be that expensive.Saves you the hassle of it dying on you at a remote place.

Yeah , used to work in a car parts place and we reckoned about 5 or 6 years , no problem getting one , just surprised the charger said it was ok .

I know that's only on voltage not cranking capacity , but I don't have a drop tester to test it .

I'll get another anyway for peace of mind .

If you're not using the bike very regularly then the battery is probably going to last a shorter time than if you were out every other day.

Ha ha !

Good point , it is a drop tester , just ordered a new one , I guess it lasted quite well !

Although the charger will look at volts and tell you it is all Ok, it will not tell you the amperage.

My battery got old and had exactly your symptoms, I turned the ignition on with a voltage tester across the battery, all was well for the first 3 minutes then it started dropping 0.1 volts each second. New battery did not exhibit this behaviour and cured the previous problems.