Dream On - Building A 40V 2.0L V8

Marb

So, we all dream. We all have our mechanical fantasies.
Mine is a V8. A 2 liter 40 valve V8. Based on two R1 engines. Now, I am not a complete noob. I have a mechanical engineering background and working as a bike mechanic for the better part of 8 years. However, I am a noob compared to some of the smart people on here. And it's always good to get more input from others.
So, the parameters and questions are as follows. I'd like the PB forums advice and knowledge.
1. Has to be a 5 valve head yamaha. Just 'cos I love them and because they haven't been used (as much) for V8 projects. However, I am no real R1 guru. Which 20V R1 would be the best to start with? I am leaning towards the later '04/'06 bikes purely due to the usage of a more advanced injection system. The earlier FZR750/1000 and YZF750 engines aren't really feasible due to central location of the cam chain. The R1's have them on the side. This obviously means that the reversed cilinder will have the camchain on the otherside.
2. Using R1 engines is has one big problem. The fact that they don't have a seperate cilinder blok. However, if I'm going to be making my own engine parts I might as wel make my own cilinder bloks. The big advantage of making my own cilinder bloks is that I can relocate the cam chain tensioner of the reversed cilinders so that those cams can run backwards. This allows me to do away with (imho) ugly gears that reverse the cam drive.
It would mean that I need to get the cams reground for the reversed cilinder to allow them to run backwards. I could however also convert to gear driven cams, that would be pretty cool too.
3. It's not gonna be used in a bike. At the moment I am thinking a Renault 4 converted to RWD. But that doesn't really matter. It means that I can use an off the shelf can transmission and clutch making my life alot simpler.