Talk To Me About Jubilee Clips. Fancy Ones...

marcaztls

If you would please.

What options do I have for fancy jubilee style clips?

Basically I have a load of silicone hoses I need to tighten, and I hate conventional jubilee clips. At best they just look crap, at worst they come in pretty useless forms.

I've seen a few 'cool' means of clmaping hoses, but I know some of you will have seen more.

I'm specifically after stuff that's light, as I've a good few hoses to clamp, and trick looking, purely because I'm a tart.

As narrow as possible while not cutting into hoses would be good too.

Moon on a stick, I know...

Also, jubilee style clamps really tighten in one point don't they?

The ones you've posted Mike, they are more a consistent clamp right?

Anyone know much about wire clamps on silicone hoses? Like these:

clip_image002_zps4b95af1b.jpg

I've got no experience of them. Would they cut into the hose after time or just not apply enough clamping force?

I'd better add these are cooling system hoses, and under a fair bit of pressure.

I wasn't trying to sell you mine.....much.....

They're used by WSB and MotoGP teams and are available in a wide range of sizes. I'll be buying them for the SpokeyV.

They do seem good, but I'm not sure if they're exactly what I'm looking for. Honestly, I'm a twat who half the time doesn't know what he wants until he sees it... Hard to explain.

Doesn't Guy Martin use some special sort of clips on his bikes?

I have no idea I'm afraid.

I've toyed with steel cable ties, but don't know much about them either. In the locations I have to use them, access is tricky, but not impossible, and I don't know how you'd release a steel cable tie without damaging the hose, or even if they'd apply enough pressure.

The Oetiker clamps are designed to give an even and distributed clamping force all the way around and to work with silicon hoses.

Sounding good. These are moving rapidly up my list due to them sounding ideal.