2002 R1 Fork Problem

rd84

Hi,

I'm building a RD500 special with 2002/3 R1 front forks - I need to unscrew the fork caps to let the suspension collapse so that I can check the clearance between a YZR500 fairing and the front wheel / mudguard.

For info I've never worked on a modern bike before - just 1980's bikes - So I took the weight off the front wheel and tried unscrewing the fork caps like I would on old non-adjustable forks - however when I get to the end of the thread the fork top won't come out - but there is a click each time I rotate the fork cap.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong ? - is there something else I need to do in addition ? - I've stopped working on the forks at the moment so that I don't do any damage.

Many thanks.

Regards

Paul

The fork tops are attached to the damper rod I think it is - if you've got the fork fully extended then the top won't come off. Let the bike sit on the front wheel, then you'll get what you want I reckon.

Hi,

Thanks guys - that worked a treat - I was nervous of causing any damage - but in fact just lowering the bike gently on a small scissor lift did the job nicely.

Anyway - I think that taking the fork caps off wasn't really the answer - the forks wanted to collapse all of the way onto the mudguard - so now I need to figure out what the maximum fork will travel will be so that I can make a template to check mudguard clearance on the fairing - I'll try and check on the internet - does anyone have a good method of making sure that everything is safe regarding clearance at maximum fork compression ?

Thanks.

Cheers

Paul

The 5PW manual says 120mm fork travel - so I suppose for safety this is the clearance that I must achieve. - allowing for the fork angle of course.

Thanks.

Cheers

Paul