Srad Front Brake Lever Doesn't Operate The Brake Light

Boozybloke

As the title says; the brake light's not working off the front lever, though it does work off the rear brake. I was going to whip the connector to the lever switch off and check connection with a multimeter, but other than that I don't have much of a clue. If it's not the switch in the lever, am I going to have to go all the way down the wires looking for breaks, and if so how do I do this?

Like I said, I'm a complete novice when it comes to fixing things, so if this is a stupid question, don't take the piss too much

Now I am no sparky, so if this burns your house down I will deny all knowledge OK ?

My '96 750 has two wires into the switch on the lever, if you pull them off the connectors and bridge the plugs the light will come on if it is the switch at fault !

The light won't come on if its the wires at fault !

And if it is something else entirely your house will burn down :icon_salut:

How are you at running from burning buildings these days by the way :lol:

(Only joking, i just checked it on mine)

As others have said it should like a faulty switch. Check the continuity with your multimeter on the switch & wires. My guess is it will be the switch.. Cheap enough. :thumbsup:

Now I am no sparky, so if this burns your house down I will deny all knowledge OK ?

My '96 750 has two wires into the switch on the lever, if you pull them off the connectors and bridge the plugs the light will come on if it is the switch at fault !

The light won't come on if its the wires at fault !

And if it is something else entirely your house will burn down :icon_salut:

How are you at running from burning buildings these days by the way :lol:

(Only joking, i just checked it on mine)

Ahh, took the plug off last night and nothing from the light so looks like it probably is the wiring then. Arse :(

I can walk from burning buildings quite well, don't know about running though...