Welders....

Sean

Right im going to bite the bullet and buy one as im sick and tired of taking bits and pieces down to the local engineering shop to have a bloody nut tacked on a frame and stuff like that. I’ve had some experience with using MIG welders but im no professional so ease of use is a major thing i need to consider with what im looking at. Want to have the option of using gas with it as well so a gas/gasless one would be ideal. Have around £300 to spend, i know im not going to get a great big thing that needs a power station to run it and i won't be using it day in day out. Just want a pretty generic welder capable of typical garage tasks. What are you lot using and what do you suggest.

I know i must sound like a right :( but i've got to start somewhere :D

It depends what you want to weld Sean.

I have a Clarke Mig160EN Turbo. Less than 300 Sovs from Machine Mart. Lovely little Mig IMO.

It has the ability to run gasless with flux-cored wire if you change the polarity... useful for welding steelwork outdoors but flux-cored wire is shite.

I've migged 0.8mm zinctec steel sheet successfully using 0.6mm wire, and i've nailed together 5mm steel plate with 0.8mm wire.

Mine runs ok off a normal 13amp socket with no problems on most settings. If I'm using it on near maximum settings or doing a lot of welding then I plug it in to the cooker socket in the kitchen with a heavy duty extension lead.

I think out of all the 'hobby migs', the Clarke range will give you the most bang for your buck.

http://www.machinemart.co.uk/shop/product/...sin-mig-welders

I have the Clarke 165 TEM, and it's a very nice piece of kit for my use. I've used it for little jobs on thin (1.5mm) stuff, up to big jobs like gluing 6mm thick sections of steel onto axles as reinforcements to do this-

DSC00549.jpg

Don't waste your money with a flux cored/gasless set, and find a good gas supplier close to you.