Maintenance on your bike

jaycee

BRAKE BLEEDING!!!!!! AAAAARRRRRGGGGHHHGHGHHHHH

Been out in the garage for a few hours fittin my new calipers and master cylinder. Easy peasy you think, so did I until it came time to replace the fluid.

I have over the years tried various devices and methods and a guy at an MOT staion gave me this advice. Get a large syringe, fit a small length of pipe between it and bleed nipple, fill the thing up with brake fluid and the system will automatically bleed as the fluid will push the air before it until it reaches the reservoir. So i've been doing it like this for 3 or 4 years now no problem, except tonight. I filled both hoses up until they just started to fill ther reservoir as normal and then topped it up to the brim so that it didn't empty when the pistons pushed back out. pumped away at the lever for 20 minutes and still no bloody pressure, the pistons haven't even come out FFS.

In disgust I tied back the lever and came back in. I'll try the old school method tomorrow. Any other suggestions welcomed.

What little jobs do you hate?

Connect all the brake lines up. If its a radial M/C then bleed at the nipple on the body of the cylinder. If its a standard cylinder then crack the banjo at the M/C a touch and bleed there.

Any time I cant get brakes to bleed up, I have cured it by bleeding the MC first. I think that a bubble of air gets trapped in the cylinder.....this doesn't stop the cylinder from pushing fluid down the lines but you can never get pressure in them until you shift the bubble by bleeding the cylinder.

Thank you oh Great One!

I'll try this tomorrow, can't be arsed to slide acroos the frozen wastes of my garden to the garage again.

Have done as Zak suggested, took all of 30 seconds to get firm brake lever. Job jobbed, thanks mate.

Have oredered a mityvac too, more shiny tools that hardly ever get used, but nice to have, like my brake piston spreader and my EZ-outs.

No worries...glad you got it sorted.